New Year Brings New Leadership

TCF and VCF boards welcome new chairs and members in 2019.

The board appoints Khalilah L. Brown-Dean (left) to serve as chair, Flemming "Nick" Norcott Jr. (center) as vice chair, and welcomes new member Terry H. Jones (right), to both TCF and VCF board membership. Photos Judy Sirota Rosenthal and Kathleen Cei

TCF and VCF Boards Welcome New Chairs and Members

The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven board of directors voted Khalilah L. Brown-Dean (left) to serve as its new chair and Flemming "Nick" Norcott Jr. (center) as vice chair effective January 1. Brown-Dean is an associate professor of political science at Quinnipiac University and an expert on the political dynamics surrounding the American criminal justice system. Norcott is a retired state judge who served on the Connecticut Supreme Court for 22 years.

New to The Foundation board in 2019 is Terry H. Jones (right), who has run his family's seven-generation Jones Family Farms in Shelton for 50 years. Jones succeeds Jimmy Ryan of Ansonia on The Foundation's board and has also joined the board of The Foundation's affiliate, the Valley Community Foundation (VCF), along with Thomas M. Sutnik.

VCF also has new leadership this year, with Lynne Bassett Perry succeeding Alan Tyma as chair and Donald W. Smith assuming the position of vice chair.

Read the press release.