The Susan M. Lewin Women's Leadership Fund

The Susan M. Lewin Women's Leadership Fund

At 2014 ceremony from left: Connie Royster, Sandy Newlan, Community Fund for Women & Girls Acting Co-Chair Susan Garcia Nofi, Clem Lewin (Susan's husband), Nilda Aponte, and Rachel Radin.

Susan Lewin

Susan M. Lewin Women’s Leadership Award Winner, “We Are All Susans…”

The first annual Susan M. Lewin Women’s Leadership Award was announced in 2014 at The Community Fund for Women & Girls’ fall gathering.

Connie Royster, Advisory Board Alumna, began the award presentation by reminding attendees of Susan’s longstanding dedication to The Fund’s mission - to recognize a woman in the nonprofit sector with leadership skills and level the playing field for women.

“Susan was a doer,” Connie shared. As a true leader, Susan “had a knack for seeing what was needed and guiding it along.” The
candidates for the inaugural award embody Susan’s dedication to advancing women and girls. They are everyday “sheroes.”
Nilda Aponte was announced as the winner of the 2014 Women’s Leadership Award.

A member of All Our Kin since 2003, Nilda most recently was charged with the organization’s expansion into Bridgeport. In addition, Nilda is Chair of Teach Our Children, a New Havenbased education advocacy group focused on empowering parents and students, and a single mom to four children.

In receiving the award, Nilda implored the room filled with Fund supporters to, “Keep Susan’s servant heart alive.” For, “we are all Susans... collectively we can make a change.”

The following volunteer and staff were also recognized as award finalists for their contributions:

  • Carolyn Augur – William Raveis Breast Cancer Fund Raiser
  • Mona Gregg - Women’s Health Research at Yale
  • Jocelyn Maminta – Caroline’s Room
  • Donna Stupak Rider – Girl Scouts of Connecticut


70 Audubon Street
New Haven, CT 06510



Sign Up for E-news