Community Foundation Announces New Members to its Board of Directors

Justice Flemming L. Norcott Jr. and Roxanne J. Coady began seven-year terms as of January 1, taking the seats of Howard K. Hill and Shelly Saczynski, respectively, whose terms expired at the end of 2015.

Flemming L. Norcott Jr.
Roxanne Coady.

New Haven, CT (January 15, 2016) - The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven, the region's charitable endowment and largest grantmaker, announces that Justice Flemming L. Norcott Jr. and Roxanne J. Coady, have been appointed to the Board of Directors. Both began seven-year terms as of January 1, taking the seats of Howard K. Hill and Shelly Saczynski, respectively, whose terms expired at the end of 2015.

"Roxanne Coady has long been a great community leader - as a businesswoman, a nonprofit leader and a passionate advocate for education, literacy and reading. Nick Norcott is an unparalleled leader too, as one of the outstanding jurists of his generation," says William Ginsberg, President and CEO of The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven. "We welcome them with great enthusiasm and great expectations for all that they will contribute to The Foundation over the next seven years."

A New Haven native, Justice Norcott retired last year after serving 22 years on the Connecticut Supreme Court. Upon graduating from Columbia University School of Law in 1968, Justice Norcott worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Kenya. A New Haven native, he became co-founder and Executive Director of the Center for Advocacy, Research and Planning and a hearing examiner for the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities. Mr. Norcott was appointed to the Connecticut Superior Court in 1979, elevated to the Appellate Court in 1987 and subsequently to the Connecticut Supreme Court in 1992.

Justice Norcott has received numerous honors and awards, including the 2002 U.S. Peace Corps Franklin H. Williams Award and the 2003 Martin Luther King Leadership Award. He is a member of the Golden Key National Honor Society, the Connecticut Bar Foundation, Omega Psi Phi and Beta Tau Boule (emeritus) fraternities and the Better Officiating Committee of the New Haven Football Officials Association. He lives with his wife, Althea, in New Haven.

Ms. Coady is founder and President of R.J. Julia Booksellers in Madison, one of the leading independent booksellers in the United States. She is also founder of Just the Right Book, the largest online personalized book-of-the-month subscription service.

In 1998, Ms. Coady founded Read To Grow, a nonprofit organization promoting development of early literacy and language skills for all Connecticut children. Since its inception, Read To Grow has distributed more than 1.5 million books for newborns and children and encourages parents to read to their children from birth. She is currently a Director of the Connecticut Council on Education Reform.

Prior to opening R.J. Julia Booksellers in 1990, she was partner and National Tax Director for BDO Seidman in New York City. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for First Niagara Financial Group and is Treasurer for the Kenyon Review Board of Trustees.

Ms. Coady appears regularly on Connecticut Public Radio with Faith Middleton and periodically on the "Today" show and "Good Morning America". She lives with her husband, Kevin, in New Haven.

Thanks to the generosity of three generations of donors, The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven awarded over $30 million in grants and distributions in 2015 from charitable assets of more than $500 million and composed of hundreds of individually named funds.In addition to its grantmaking, The Community Foundation helps build a stronger community by taking measures to improve student achievement, create healthy families in New Haven, promote local philanthropy through® and The Great Give®, and encourage better understanding of the region. The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven's 20 town service area includes: Ansonia, Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Derby, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Seymour, Shelton, Wallingford, West Haven, Woodbridge. For more information, visit or follow The Foundation on Facebook ( and Twitter (


Media Contact:
Tricia Caldwell
Director of Communications